Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Opinions/Advice on Do/Should I replace ALL Electrolytic Capacitors on old equipment?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Opinions/Advice on Do/Should I replace ALL Electrolytic Capacitors on old equipment?

I've just been repairing some (very) old speakers with a loud hum that occurred as soon as you powered them on regardless if any actual audio is played through them. I work in a School so it's 99% likey that the Teachers have hardly ever turned the power off on them for well over 10+ years.

Click image for larger version

Name:	Speaker Bulging Capacitor.png
Views:	414
Size:	4.11 MB
ID:	3246656

As you can see the top large capacitor on the right has a bulge on the top so defincately needs replacing. As the one next to it is exactly the same capacity and voltage I planned to replace them both.

What is your advice/opinion on whether or not on old(er) equipment that has been well used, should all the other electrolytic capacitors also be replaced as they cost just a few pennies each or am I just wasting my time and should I just replace the one(s) that are clearly faulty?

Originally posted by RetroComputingGrotto View Post
    I've just been repairing some (very) old speakers with a loud hum that occurred as soon as you powered them on regardless if any actual audio is played through them. I work in a School so it's 99% likey that the Teachers have hardly ever turned the power off on them for well over 10+ years.

Click image for larger version  Name:	Speaker Bulging Capacitor.png Views:	17 Size:	4.11 MB ID:	3246656

As you can see the top large capacitor on the right has a bulge on the top so defincately needs replacing. As the one next to it is exactly the same capacity and voltage I planned to replace them both.